August 2017 Reading Goals

A new month is upon us and with it brings new selection of books to read. I’m usually not the type to be so forthcoming and plan ahead my reading schedule (I meander by nature when it comes to books). Books come when and where they do, often without my control or foreknowledge. Occasionally I like to have a little of a plan, though I too often get sidetracked (re: last month’s reading goals, when Vanity Fair took way longer than I anticipated to get through).

All the same, I’ve outlined a tentative list of books I’d like to get through this month.

  1. The Monkey Wrench Gang by Edward Abbey
    1. Currently on loan from my boyfriend, and a hefty book at that, so it should take me awhile. I’m told I will enjoy this novel of saboteurs and environmental justice.
  2. Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad
    1. I’m due for a re-read of Conrad’s masterpiece. Why not this month?
  3. My Life With Bob: Flawed Heroine keeps Book of Books, Plot Ensues by Pamela Paul
    1. After some heavy reading from Conrad, I expect this last one will be a book palate-cleanser. For I, too, keep a book of books and enjoy books about bookish topics. I’m also a big fan of Pamela Paul, editor of the New York Times Book Review, and listen to her weekly New York Times Book Review Podcast.
  4. The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers
    1. Published when McCullers was only twenty-three and her first novel! I just got this one on loan from the library. I’ve never read her, but I’m looking forward to trying out a new author.

Looking forward to these late summer reads!

xoxo M

Leave a Reply

